Home Health and Wellness Articles The 7 chakras and their significance

The 7 chakras and their significance


The word Chakra derives from the Sanskrit word meaning “wheel,” as well as “circle” and “cycle”. It’s described by many as a spinning wheel of light. In Buddhism, the Sanskrit term cakra (Pali cakka) is used in a different sense of “circle,” referring to the conception of rebirth consisting of six states in which beings may be reborn.

There are believed to be seven major chakras, which are arranged vertically along the axial channel (sushumna nadi). Below is a description of the seven chakras starting from the bottom.

  1. ROOT CHAKRA (Muladhar, located in the tailbone area)

This determines our connection to our foundation and the feeling of humility. Physically, Muladhara governs sexuality, mentally it governs stability, emotionally it governs sensuality, and spiritually it governs a sense of security.

  1. SACRAL CHAKRA (Svadhishthana, located two inches below the navel and inside)

This determines our flexibility to accept new experiences, people, and situations in life.  Physically, Svadhishthana governs reproduction, mentally it governs creativity, emotionally it governs joy, and spiritually it governs enthusiasm.

  1. SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA (Manipura, located in the stomach area)

This determines our confidence and in turn, our control of our lives. Physically, Manipura governs digestion, mentally it governs personal power, emotionally it governs expansiveness, and spiritually, all matters of growth.

  1. HEART CHAKRA (Anahata, located in the centre of the chest, above the heart)

This determines our ability to give and experience love.  Physically Anahata governs circulation, emotionally it governs unconditional love for the self and others, mentally it governs passion, and spiritually it governs devotion.

  1. THROAT CHAKRA (Vishuddha, located in the throat)

This determines our power to communicate rightly and transparently. Physically, Vishuddha governs communication, emotionally it governs independence, mentally it governs fluent thought, and spiritually, it governs a sense of security.

  1. THIRD EYE CHAKRA (Ajna, located between the eyes on the forehead)

This determines your ability to maintain focus, concentration and virtue.  Ajna’s inner aspect relates to the access of intuition. Mentally, Ajna deals with visual consciousness. Emotionally, Ajna deals with clarity on an intuitive level.

  1. CROWN CHAKRA (Sahasrara, located in the head area at the very top)

This determines our ability to fully connect to spirituality and the soul within. Sahasrara’s inner aspect deals with the release of karma, physical action with meditation, mental action with universal consciousness and unity, and emotional action with “beingness.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here